Kartikeya Temples

Karthikeya Murugan, Skanda and Subramaniyam is the Hindu god of war and form of Lord Agni. He is the Commander-in-Chief of the army of the devas. He is also the primary deity of the Kaumaram sect of Hinduism. Murugan is worshipped primarily in areas of Tamil speaking population. In Tamil Nadu in India, Sri Lanka, Mauritius, Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and Réunion. His six most important shrines in India are the Six Abodes of Murugan also known Arupadaiveedu literally meaning six warhouses, temples located in Tamil Nadu. Kataragamam temple in Kataragama, Sri Lanka, is a temple complex dedicated to Kataragama deviyo . It is one of the few religious sites in Sri Lanka that is venerated by the people Tamil Hindu Sri Lankan Tamils, Sri Lankan Moors and the Vedda people. In Bengal, Odisha and Maharashtra, he is popularly known as Kartikeya. He is known as Subrahmanya, Muruga or Palani Andava in Tamilnadu.
Choose a content type to filter the tagged content by content type